# NORTH AND MID WALES ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS CYMDEITHAS CYNGHORAU TREFI A CHYMDEITHASAU MWYAF GOGLEDD CYMRU

# **MINUTES**

of the ANNUAL MEETING
of the Association held on
Friday 19<sup>th</sup> July 2024 at 10.30am
held at the Civic Halls Connah's Quay

#### Present were:

Cllr Ian Hodge chair Holywell Town Council

Cllr Haydn Bateman Northrop Community Council

Cllr Vivienne Blondek Buckley Town Council

Cllr Lynette Edwards Caerswys Community Council

Cllr Veronica Gay

Cllr Chrissy Gee

Broughton Town Council

Broughton Town Council

Mostyn Community Council

Cllr Alan James Rhyl Town Council

Cllr Bernise McLoughlin Towyn and Kinmell Bay Town Council

Cllr Peter Morton St Asaph City Council
Gareth Nickels Rhyl Town Council

Cllr Allun Owen Connah's Quay Town Council
Cllr D Owen Connah's Quay Town Council

Cllr Ted Palmer Holywell Town Council

Susanne Wilson Connah's Quay Town Council
Robert Robinson Secretary Llanfair Caereinion Town Council

By zoom:

Cllr Michael Davies Beaumaris Town Council
Cllr Paul Fletcher Abergele Town Council

# **Apologies received:**

Nigel Allcott

Cllr S Beach

Cllr Joan Butterfield President

Cllr J Chamberlain Jones

Cllr Norma Davies

Prestatyn Town Council

Ruthin Town Council

Ryhl Town Council

Flint Town Council

Cllr Lynda Griffiths Towyn and Kinmell Bay Town Council

Cllr Rob Mansell

Cllr J Oakes Ruthin Town Council

# NORTH AND MID WALES ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS CYMDEITHAS CYNGHORAU TREFI A CHYMDEITHASAU MWYAF GOGLEDD CYMRU

Cont.....

Cllr Gwynfor Owen

Cllr H Pearce Llandudno

Cllr Rathbone
Cllr Helen Roberts
Cllr Shirley Jones Roberts
Cllr Chamberlain Jones
Cllr Jackie Webster
Cllr Adrian West
Cllr Andrew Wood
Cllr Andrew Wood
Buckley Town Council
Conwy Town Council
Rhyl Town Council
Conwy Town Council
Prestatyn Town Council

#### 1. Welcome

The meeting received a welcome from the Chair to the meeting.

The meeting received a welcome from the Deputy Mayor Cllr D Owen of Connah's Quay Town Council.

# 2. Minutes of the last Annual Association Meeting

The meeting **APPROVED** the minutes of the last annual meeting held in July 2023.

### 4. Election of Chair for the ensuing year

The meeting elected Cllr Ian Hodge as Chair for the ensuing year.

Proposed by Cllr Norma Davies and seconded by Cllr Ted Palmer.

The vote was unanimous.

#### 5. Report from the chair

The chair gave a short report on the Association covering the last year.

#### 6. Vice Chair for the ensuing year

The meeting elected Cllr Norma Davies as Vice Chair for the ensuing year.

Proposed by Cllr Ian Hodge and seconded by Cllr Ted Palmer.

The vote was unanimous.

# 7. Election of a Secretary/Treasurer

The meeting elected Robert Robinson as Secretary/Treasurer for the ensuing year.

Proposed by Cllr Ian Hodge and seconded by Cllr Michael Davies.

The vote was unanimous.



# 8. Election of an executive

The following members were elected to the executive for the ensuing year:

Cllr Ian Hodge Chair Cllr Joan Butterfield President

Cllr Norma Davies Vice Chair Robert Robinson Secretary/Treasurer

Cllr Vivienne Blondek Cllr Michael Davies
Cllr Lynnete Edwards Cllr Patrick Heesom
Cllr Bernise McLoughlin Cllr Peter Morton

Cllr Ted Palmer

# 9. Financial Report & Annual Accounts

To meeting received and APPROVED the annual accounts.

The excess of expenditure over income was noted, mainly due to the cost of a new website and the cost of venues. The budge for the ensuring year is to allow for an excess of income to allow the funds to grow again.

The meeting APPOINTED an auditor for the ensuing year being David.

The meeting **APPOINTED** an auditor for the ensuing year being David Plume. A small gift is to be arranged as a thank you.

#### 10. Annual fees

The meeting **APPROVED** the annual fees for the ensuing year as follows:

Heading	Approved
Larger Council (pop 10,000 plus)	£110
Medium Council (pop 5,000 plus)	£85
Smaller Council (pop under 5,000)	£70
Meals	£23

The meeting **APPROVED** the budget presented for the ensuing year as set out below:



INCOME	ABERGELE	110	EXPENDITURE	SECRETARIAT	600	SECRETARIAT	COSTS	TRAVEL	250
	BEAUMARIS	70		WEBSITE	87			PAPER	15
	BROUGHTON	70		HALL HIRE	400			INK	85
	BUCKLEY	110		OTHER	200			STAMPS	58
	CAERSWYS	70						ZOOM	192
	CONNAH'S QUAY	110						TOTAL	600
	DENBIGH	70							
	FLINT	110							
	HAWARDEN	70							
	HOLYHEAD	110							
	HOLYWELL	110							
	LLANDUDNO	110							
	LLANFAIR CAEREINON	70							
	LLANFAIRFECHAN	70							
	NEW MEMBERS	140							
	PENMAENMAWR	70							
	PRESTATYN	110							
	RHYL	110							
	RUTHIN	85							
	SHOTTON	110							
	ST ASAPH	70							
	TOWYN AND KINMELL BAY	110							
	TOTAL INCOME	2065	TOTAL EXPENDITURE		1287				
			BALANCE		783				

The secretary recommended that to help the Association balances that the secretariat cost is reduced from £900pa to £600pa. The meeting thanked the secretary for this offer and the proposal was **APPROVED.** 

# 11. Approval of new Councils seeking membership of the Association

The meeting approved the membership of both Mostyn and Northrop Community Councils.

### 12. Dates of future meetings

To considered and approved the schedule of dates for 2024-2025 as follows:

# **Quarterly Meetings**

Friday 18<sup>th</sup> October 2024 – Towyn and

Kinmell Bay

Friday 24<sup>th</sup> January 2025 - Beaumaris Friday 18<sup>th</sup> April 2025 - To be agreed. Friday 18<sup>th</sup> July 2025 - Connah's Quay

Meetings start at 10.30am and will be in person and on zoom wherever possible.



# **Executive Meetings**

Friday 20<sup>th</sup> September 2024
Friday 13<sup>th</sup> December 2024
Friday 21<sup>st</sup> March 2025
Friday 19<sup>th</sup> June 2025

Meetings start at 10.30am and will by Zoom.