## NORTH AND MID WALES ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS CYMDEITHAS CYNGHORAU TREFI A CHYMDEITHASAU MWYAF GOGLEDD CYMRU

#### **MINUTES**

of the

#### **ANNUAL MEETING**

of the Association held on

## Friday 21st July 2023 at 10.45am at

the Civic Halls Connah's Quay

#### Present:

Cllr Ian Hodge chair Holywell Town Council

Cllr Norma Davies vice chair Flint Town Council
Cllr Joan Butterfield president Rhyl Town Council

Cllr Alyn Ashworth Denbigh Town Council
Cllr Stephen Beach Ruthin Town Council

Cllr Vivienne Blondek Buckley Town Council

Cllr Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones Rhyl Town Council

Cllr Bill Crease Connah's Quay Town council
Cllr Lynette Edwards Caerwys Community Council

Cllr Lynda Griffiths Towyn & Kinmell Bay Town Council
Cllr Bernise McLoughlin Towyn & Kinmell Bay Town Council

Cllr Alan Manship Connah's Quay Town Council

Cllr Bob Murray Prestatyn Town Council
Cllr Peter Morton St Asaph City Council
Cllr Jabez Oakes Ruthin Town Council

Cllr Alan Owen Connah's Quay Town Council

Gareth Nichols Rhyl Town Council

Cllr Michael Pearce Llandudno Town Council
Cllr Lorraine Rathbone Buckley Town Council
Cllr Helen Roberts Colwyn Town Council
Cllr Jackie Webster Colwyn Town Council
Cllr Adrian West Prestatyn Town Council

Robert Robinson Secretary Llanfair Caereinion Town Council



### Apologies for absence:

Cllr Lynda Carter Holywell Town Council

Cllr Michael Davies Beaumaris Town Council

Cllr David Evans, Shotton Town Council

Cllr Paul Fletcher

Cllr Shirley Jones-Roberts Abergele Town Council

Town Clerk St Asaph City Council

Cllr Andrew Wood Abergele Town Council

#### 1. Welcome

The meeting received a welcome from the chair to the meeting.

The meeting received a welcome and short address from the Mayor of Connah's Quay Town Council Cllr Alan Manship.

#### 3. Minutes of the last Annual Association Meeting

The meeting considered and approved the minutes of the last annual meeting held in July 2022.

Proposed by Cllr Bernise McLoughlin and seconded by Cllr Stephen Beach. The vote was unanimous.

#### 4. Election of chair for the ensuing year

The meeting elected Cllr Ian Hodge as chair for the ensuing year.

#### 5. Presentation to outgoing chair

The new chair made a presentation to Cllr Peter Morton the outgoing chair.

The meeting thanked Cllr Morton for his service during the time as chair over the past 3 years.

#### 6. Vice Chair for the ensuing year

The meeting elected Cllr Norma Davies as vice chair for the ensuing year.



#### 7. Election of a secretary/treasurer

The meeting elected Robert Robinson as secretary/treasurer for the ensuing year.

#### 8. The executive

The meeting elected the following to the executive of the Association:

Cllr Lynette Edwards, Cllr Vivienne Blondek, Cllr Bernise McLoughlin, Cllr Michael Davies, and Jabez Oakes.

Cllr Joan Butterfield President, Cllr Ian Hodge Chair, Cllr Norma Davies Vice Chair, Cllr Peter Morton (Immediate Past Chair) and Robert Robinson (Secretary) are also members as per the constitution.

#### 9. Financial Report & Annual Accounts

The meeting received and approved the annual accounts.

Proposed by Cllr Michael Pearce and seconded by Cllr Helen Roberts. The vote was unanimous.

The meeting was informed that Bay of Colwyn Council was not renewing membership.

They are subject to audit.

#### 10. Annual fees

The meeting considered and approved the annual fees for the ensuing year:

Heading	Current	Proposed
Larger Council (pop 10,000 plus)	£100	£100
Medium Council (pop 5,000 plus)	£75	£75
Smaller Council (pop under 5,000)	£60	£60
Meals	£20	£22
Associates for rail only	£10	£10

Proposed by Cllr Bill Crease and seconded by Cllr Helen Roberts. The vote was unanimous.

The executive is to consider meetings and fees at its meeting in September.

# NORTH AND MID WALES ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS CYMDEITHAS CYNGHORAU TREFI A CHYMDEITHASAU MWYAF GOGLEDD CYMRU

It was agreed that fee invoices would not be issued until after the next executive meeting. The discussion to included cost of membership to councils, meeting styles and venues.

The meeting considered and approved the budget presented for the ensuing year as set out below:

Membership fees		£1,700
Room hires	£300	
Secretary	£900	
Banking provision	£50	
Website	£325	
Other	£50	
Total		£1,625
Balance		£75

Proposed by Cllr Stephen Beach and seconded by Cllr Bernise McLoughlin. The vote was unanimous.

## 10. Email survey

An email survey is to be completed seeking views regarding:

Offers for venues of meetings.

If the council has highbred facilities.

Meetings in person or by zoom.

Proposed by Cllr Norma Davies and seconded by Cllr Alan Manship. The vote was unanimous.

#### 11. Dates of future meetings

The meeting considered and approved the schedule of dates for 2023-2024.

#### **Quarterly meetings**

Friday	20th October 2023	To be subject to a decision by the Executive.	
Friday	19 <sup>th</sup> January 2024	To be subject to a decision by the Executive.	
Friday	19 <sup>th</sup> April 2024	To be subject to a decision by the Executive.	
Friday	19 <sup>th</sup> July 2024	Venue Connah's Quay Civic Halls	
Meetings start at 10.30am.			



The executive is to consider the venues of meetings at its meeting in September.

## **Executive meetings**

Friday 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2023
Friday 15<sup>th</sup> December 2024
Friday 22<sup>nd</sup> March 2024
Friday 21<sup>st</sup> June 2024

Meetings start at 10.30am and will by Zoom.

Ruthin and Towyn & Kinmell Bay Councils may be able to host a meeting during the year.